Kelsay One of 14 Recipients of National Football Foundation Postgraduate Scholarship

By NU Athletic Communications
Photo by None

Lincoln -- Nebraska senior rush end Chris Kelsay was announced on Thursday as of 14 college football players named to the 2002 National Scholar-Athlete Class by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The honorees will all receive postgraduate scholarships in the amount of $18,000 from the NFF/HOF.

The honorees come from all NCAA divisions as well as the NAIA and Kelsay is one of six honorees from the Division I-A ranks. The Auburn, Neb., native is a finance major and carries a 3.549 cumulative grade-point average. On the field, Kelsay is a three-year starter and is one of three Husker captains for the 2002 season. Kelsay is scheduled to graduate this December and has already begun work on his MBA.

The postgraduate scholarship adds to the long list of academic awards Kelsay has received during his Husker career. He is a three-time first-team Academic All-Big 12 selection and was a Verizon/CoSIDA Academic All-District VII pick in 2001. He is also an eight-time Big 12 Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll member and a three-time High Honors Academic Medallion recipient.

Kelsay is one of three Big 12 players among the six Division I-A scholarship recipients. Oklahoma State offensive tackle Kyle Eaton and Texas Tech quarterback Kliff Kingsbury will also be awarded $18,000 post-graduate scholarships. In addition, this year's NAIA selection was Nebraska Wesleyan wide receiver Luke Klinker, an Omaha native.

Kelsay is the 20th Husker to receive a NFF/HOF postgraduate scholarship, the most of any school. He is the fourth player to receive a postgraduate scholarship during Frank Solich's tenure as head coach, joining fullback Joel Makovicka (1998), rush end Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000) and tight end Tracey Wistrom (2001).

To be eligible for a National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame postgraduate fellowship, a player must be a senior or graduate student in his final year of eligibility, have a grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, have shown superior academic application and performance, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The scholar-athletes will be recognized at the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's 45th Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. One of the 14 scholar-athletes will receive the HealthSouth Draddy Trophy as the top-scholar athlete in the nation, increasing the scholarship to $25,000. Nebraska has had two winners of the award, formerly called the Vincent dePaul Draddy Award. Offensive lineman Rob Zatechka won the award in 1994, while Vanden Bosch was NU's second recipient in 2000.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub