Fifteen Huskers Named to 2003 Berringer Team

By NU Athletic Communications
Will Dabbert became the second Husker to be named to the Brook Berringer Citizenship Team five straight years.
Will Dabbert became the second Husker to be named to the Brook Berringer Citizenship Team five straight years.
Photo by University Communications

Lincoln - The Nebraska Athletic Department has announced that 15 members of the 2002 Husker football program have been named to the seventh annual Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.


The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team was established by the Husker football program in honor of former Nebraska quarterback Brook Berringer, who died in a plane crash in April of 1996. Berringer was a member of NU's back-to-back national championship teams in 1994 and 1995. He was also one of the most dedicated Husker volunteers in the community with youth, both in Nebraska and in his hometown of Goodland, Kan. The team honors players who display a similar love and dedication for volunteering in the community.


The 2003 squad is headlined by tight end Will Dabbert, who graduated last December. Dabbert, a Lincoln East graduate, is on the team for the fifth consecutive year. He is the second five-time Berringer Team member, joining former Husker running back Dan Alexander, who made the team each year from 1997 to 2001.


Receivers Troy Hassebroek and Ryan Ommert were each honored as members of the team for the third time. Five Huskers - rush end Demoine Adams, place-kicker Sandro DeAngelis, fullback Steve Kriewald, offensive lineman Jack Limbaugh and receiver Mike McLaughlin - were all named to the Berringer Team for a second time. The remaining seven Brook Berringer Citizenship Team members were first-time honorees. In addition, five players were honorable-mention selections to the squad.


The 2003 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team will be honored in pregame ceremonies at Saturday's annual Red- White Spring Game.


2003 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team

Name                           Yr.*       Pos.     Hometown                  

Demoine Adams            Sr.        RE        Pine Bluff, Ark.             

Will Dabbert                  Sr.        TE        Lincoln, Neb.                

Sandro DeAngelis          So.       PK        Niagara Falls, Ontario    

M.J. Flaum                    So.       OT        Westminster, Colo.       

Garth Glissman             Fr.        QB       Lincoln, Neb.                

Troy Hassebroek            Sr.        WB       Lincoln, Neb.                

Steve Kriewald               So.       FB        Scotia, Neb.                 

Jack Limbaugh              Jr.         C          Algona, Iowa                           

Mike McLaughlin            RFr.      WR       Omaha, Neb.                

Ryan Ommert                Jr.         WR       Cambridge, Neb.           

Josh Sewell                   Jr.         C          Lincoln, Neb.                

Dane Todd                     Fr.        FB        Lincoln, Neb.                

Tyler Toline                    So.       RE        Wahoo, Neb.                

Curt Tomasevicz            Jr.         LB        Shelby, Neb.                

Ben Zajicek                   So.       WR       Beatrice, Neb.              


2003 Honorable Mention Brook Berringer Citizenship Team

Name                           Yr.*       Pos.     Hometown                  
Adam Hassebroek         RFr.      WR       Lincoln, Neb.                

Brandon Koch                RFr.      C          Gothenburg, Neb.          

Jeff McBride                  So.       RE        Brule, Neb.                   

Alex Shada                   So.       TE        Wahoo, Neb.                

Kyle Ringenberg            Sr.        TE        Elkhorn, Neb.               

*-Year indicates eligibility for 2002 season


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub